BAHOF Scholarships

Scholarship Opportunities

Student-Athlete Scholarship

In 2005, the Braves Athletic Hall of Fame voted to establish scholarships for the benefit of current student-athletes. The first awards were given in the fall of 2006. In 2016-17, the organization is providing four $1,000 awards to the top student-athletes as determined by the coaching staff and athletic director.

The scholarships were endowed in 2008. They are funded by the Braves Athletic Hall of Fame membership and friends. Contributions to the scholarships are invited online by credit card or by check made payable to Ottawa University with BAHOF Scholarship in the memo portion.

2019-2020 Recipients

  • Nicole Brey (Competitive Cheer)
  • Victoria Norris (Women's Wrestling)
  • Jaylin King (Football)
  • Nate Johnson (Men's Soccer)
  • Ryan Haskins (Men's Basketball)


Coach Bill Boucek Scholarship

Coach Bill Boucek

About Bill B. Boucek
Coach Bill B. Boucek ’49 participated in football and track as an Ottawa University student. In 1954, he started coaching track, women’s basketball, football, and basketball for more than 35 years and began the weight lifting program at OU. He was KCAC Coach of the Year 11 times. He was also athletic director, dean of men, and physical education department chair, retiring in 1989. He served his country in the Army during WWII and was a charter member of the Braves Athletic Hall of Fame. The Bill Boucek Scholarship is a $1,000 award.

2019-2020 Recipient

  • Bryanna Houser (Women's Track and Field, Powerlifting)


Coach Dick Peters Scholarship

Coach Dick Peters

About Dick Peters
Coach Dick Peters’ playing career included three letters each in football and track, as well as All-Big Six End honors at Kansas State University. He served as assistant coach for three years at Ottawa University, becoming head football coach in 1956 to create a record of 129-42-3 in 22 years, including three undefeated seasons. OU won the KCAC Conference title in football seven times and took the title four times in track from 1949-1952 under Peters’ coaching. He also served as athletic director. He was elected to the NAIA Coaches Hall of Fame in 1973 and posthumously to the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame in 1977. He was a WWII veteran and was a charter member of the Braves Athletic Hall of Fame. The Peters Scholarship is a $1,000 award.

2019-2020 Recipient

  • Jalen Skar (Football)


Bill Frear Scholarship

Bill Frear

About Bill Frear
Coach Bill Frear ’50 is one of the most accomplished Braves basketball coaches in OU history. As an Ottawa University athlete, he was part of three KCAC championship teams and was a two-year all-conference selection. As a head basketball coach from 1955 to 1978, he recorded 267 wins and five conference championships. He also served as athletic director; head baseball, tennis, and golf coach; football and track assistant; and professor. He was a WWII Marine veteran and was a charter member of the Braves Athletic Hall of Fame. The Frear Scholarship is awarded to two recipients, each receiving $500.

2019-2020 Recipients

  • Mariah Grizzle (Women's Basketball)
  • Jackson Mallory (Men's Basketball)


Elaine "Mom" Pyle Scholarship

Elaine 'Mom' Pyle

About Elaine Pyle
Elaine “Mom” Pyle began her career at Ottawa University in 1984 in the registrar’s office, becoming University registrar in 1995 and serving until her death in 2006. She was dedicated to OU and was a devoted OU basketball fan. Known to many as “Mom,” Elaine was a difference-maker, positively impacting many lives with her compassionate, caring, honest, loyal, fair, generous, and intelligent manner. She was a strong Christian and understood that the real mission of a Christian-affiliated institution was to act with love and care, inspiring all to reach new heights. She loved all, no matter the outcome. The Pyle Scholarships of $500 are awarded in her memory.

2019-2020 Recipients

  • Darryl Bowie (Men's Basketball)
  • Avery Lewman (Women's Basketball)


Jim Smith Awards

Jim Smith

About Jim Smith
Awarded annually to the student-athlete who exhibits the qualities of Jim Smith, Class of 1960, as the most enthusiastic, relentlessly optimistic, positive, and upbeat athlete at Ottawa University, and who has this impact on his or her team.

2019-2020 Recipients

  • Allison Bauer (Women's Volleyball)
  • Jenae Wilson (Women's Wrestling)


Dudley Geise NAIA Champions of Character Awards

Dudley Geise

About Dudley Geise
Dudley Geise ’53 served his country in the Air Force during WWII before attending Ottawa University in 1948 and earning 10 letters in varsity football, basketball and track. Following graduation, he taught various subjects and coached for 35 years in secondary education. For 25+ of those years, he was an FCA Huddle Leader, retiring in 1988. In 1991, he was inducted into the Kansas Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame and the Braves Athletic Hall of Fame. In recognition of his character, leadership, friendship, and encouragement to all, this award was created in 2008 to honor one female and one male each year who exhibit outstanding sportsmanship. Two $400 scholarships are awarded in his honor.

2019-2020 Recipients

  • Bobby Harshaw (Competitive Cheer)
  • Elizabeth Vaughn (Women's Basketball)


Kurt Barbour Memorial Scholarship

About Kurt Barbour
This scholarship has been created to honor and represent the life of Kurt Barbour. Kurt will be remembered for his love of family, friends and his sport. and his legacy will always be his passion for athletics, his faith and his family. Kurt played football with a dedication and commitment to excel. He earned All-Conference honors as a defensive back and had a never quit approach to anything he undertook. His hard work and talent allowed him to excel in all areas of his life. He serves as an example for all of us and his fight to beat his illness was without reproach.

2019-2020 Recipient

  • Isaiah Veal (Football)

Albert "Butch" Lewis Memorial Scholarship

About "Butch" Lewis
Butch Lewis was an outstanding athlete at Ottawa University from 1957 to 1961 as a member of the football, basketball and track teams, receiving letters in all three sports. He held the javelin record at OU for many years and was the epitome of a great teammate. He spent his postgraduate career at Buena Vista College in Storm Lake, Iowa. During his tenure Buena Vista enjoyed many conference championships in no small part due to his leadership, coaching and serving as a role model for student athletes.

2019-2020 Recipient

  • Tynan Muehlemeyer (Football)