Journalism Awards

Posted by cservaes on September 19, 2011 in "Academic Programs", "Current Students", "School of Arts and Sciences", "The College" In April, Ottawa University media students were recognized at the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP) conference in Hutchinson. The nine staff members of The Campus newspaper received 21 individual awards at the conference. Four took home first-place awards. The conference featured 23 schools and 1,863 contest entries. The Campus, the oldest student-run newspaper in Kansas, received a silver award in the four-year private university division for its overall product. Photography editor Sara Humm, a senior from Ottawa, was secondrunner up for the Journalist of the Year award in the four-year university division. Junior Danielle Jurski, Topeka, served as the newspaper’s editor-in-chief during the 2010-11 school year. Awards Campus staff – special section, first and honorable mention Sara Humm – illustration, first, second and third; news writing, third and honorable mention; single ad design, honorable mention Danielle Jurski – headline writing, first; front page design, third; column writing, third; review writing, third; interior page design, third and honorable mention; illustration, honorable mention Jenna Phillips – review writing, first Thomas Richmond – feature photo, second Amanda Roseberry – front page design, second Stacey Gorton and Nicole Becchina – photo essay, third Leah Frey – single ad design, third Cyrus Oliver II – cartoons, third