OU Celebrates 20 Years in Wisconsin

Posted by Paula Paine on March 13, 2013 in Alumni, "alumni association", "alumni awards", celebration, Community, Events, "Other News", OUWI, Wisconsin, "Wisconsin 20th" On October 4, more than 100 Ottawa University alumni gathered at the Westmoor Country Club in Brookfield for OU-Wisconsin’s 2nd Annual Alumni Awards and Recognition ceremony. This year’s event was made even more special as it coincided with Ottawa University’s 20th anniversary in Wisconsin. “20 Years of Significance” was celebrated in conjunction with the alumni event and programming the next day.

In addition to the Awards Ceremony (see recipients on following page), guests enjoyed dinner, a raffle and silent auction, as well as an interactive show by Comedy Sportz. OU alumni were joined by Wisconsin faculty and staff, as well as administrators from Ottawa University’s other campuses, including President Kevin Eichner, Vice President for University Advancement Paul Bean, University Registrar Karen Adams, and Vice President of APOS Shane Smeed. Ottawa University’s mascot, Gibby the Otter, even joined in the fun. The evening proved to be OU-Wisconsin’s largest event to date. The following day, President Eichner presented a Leadership Matters workshop on his “Top Ten Leadership Lessons from a Lifetime of Leadership.” A 20th Anniversary Open House followed, with socializing, networking and a short program featuring Brookfield Mayor Steve Ponto, Waukesha County Executive Dan Vrakas and OU Alumna and Trustee Kathy Madden, who is the Waukesha County clerk of courts. President Eichner and Campus Executive Wade Mauland also provided remarks/reflections on OUWisconsin’s history.Ottawa University. “We were so excited to celebrate this milestone here in Wisconsin and appreciated the well-wishes and congratulations of our OU family around the country as they celebrated with us in spirit,” said Mauland. “Here’s to 20 MORE Years of Significance in Wisconsin!”

Ottawa University® 2nd Annual Alumni Awards and Recognition Winners

Louis Young ’08 - Ambassador Award Mary VanAckeren ’10 - Outstanding Achievement Award Brian Clemmer ’07 - Volunteer Service Award

2012 Ottawa University Alumni Association-Wisconsin Chapter Board of Directors

Officers Diane Sexton ’05 & MBA ’08, President Jackie Dedrick ’11, Vice President Kelly S. Heilert ’11, Secretary Jackie Dedrick ’11, Foundation Chair Kelly Heilert ’11, Marketing Chair Yancy Suber ’08, Special Events Chair Members at Large Sonya Garbe ’05, MBA ’10 Donna M. Edwards ’06, MAHR ’12 Stacy L. Krygier ’05 Christopher Sanchez Tony Sleaper Paul Devine ’05 Andy Mindiola ’10 Ex-Officio Officers Dr. Wade Mauland Brian Patterson