Top Scholars Announced

Posted by Paula Paine on March 18, 2014 in Seven high school students were awarded scholarships as part of The College’s fall Top Scholars competition. Each of the recipients is anticipated to be a full-time OU student beginning the fall of 2014.

Taylor Thompson of Abilene, KS; Tag Oldham of Oswego, KS; and Noah Packard of Derby, KS, were each awarded the Presidential Scholarship for their four-year educational tenure at OU. The Presidential Scholarship is a full tuition scholarship valued at a minimum of $80,000. Recipients are required to continue their academic and leadership excellence throughout their time at OU.

Lyndi McIntyre of Wichita, KS; Tarryn Alloway of Parsons, KS; Christian Provence of Frontenac, KS; and Callee Sprew of Topeka, KS, were each awarded the Provost Scholarship for their four-year educational tenure at OU. The Provost Scholarship is a three-quarter tuition scholarship valued at a minimum of $60,000.

Scholarship competitors were selected based on academic criteria (3.5 or higher GPA, 25 or higher ACT score, top 1/3 of class) and portfolios submitted prior to the competition. Following on-campus essays and panel interviews, the Presidential Scholarships were awarded from 14 students invited to compete.

President Kevin C. Eichner was personally involved in the selection process and is looking forward to the contributions the scholars will make on the OU campus. “Ottawa University’s Presidential and Provost Scholarships are the most prestigious of any we offer. Recipients are not only outstanding scholars; they are expected to distinguish themselves as leaders in many facets of student life. Many have gone on to exceptional careers in business, human services, the arts, education, and numerous other fields.”

A spring Top Scholars competition was held in March, with recipients to be announced in the near future.