Eleven Ottawa University Students Inducted Into Sigma Alpha Honors Society


Ottawa, Kan. – Ottawa University is pleased to announce that 11 students have been inducted into the Sigma Alpha Honors Society. Each spring, the society elects the top 10 percent of the senior class and the top two percent of the junior class at The College and invites these students to participate in an induction ceremony to become members of this prestigious group.

Sigma Alpha was established as a local honors society at Ottawa University in 1941. Its purposes are to encourage concern for high academic achievement and to recognize those students who have attained distinction in the academic program of Ottawa University.

2017 Sigma Alpha Honors Society Inductees

Name                                                   Hometown

Kaylee M. Asher                                  Kingman, Kan.

Kimberly Beauchamp                          Paola, Kan.

Austin R. Blaue                                   Ottawa, Kan.

Chisholm Branscum                            Ulysses, Kan.

Ada C. Castro                                      Chicopee, Venezuela

Ryan T. Ellis                                        Kansas City, Kan.

Anna Ernst                                           Springfield, Mass.                                

Ryan F. Fields                                      Ottawa, Kan.

Samantha N. Heppler                          Ottawa, Kan.

Angel L. Torres Quintana                    Independence, Kan.

Dylan Wheeler                                     Holton, Kan.

# # #
About Ottawa University
Founded in 1865, Ottawa University prepares professional and liberal arts graduates for lifetimes of personal significance, vocational fulfillment and service to God and humanity as a Christ-inspired community of grace and opening inquiry. Ottawa University is a comprehensive, not-for-profit educational institution serving more than 4,000 students through its residential campuses in Ottawa, Kan., and Surprise, Ariz. (opening Fall 2017), and adult campuses in Overland Park, Kan.; Phoenix, Queen Creek and Surprise, Ariz.; Brookfield, Wis.; Jeffersonville, Ind.; and online. For more information, visit www.ottawa.edu