Skip to Content Request Info

David C. Owen Leadership Scholarship Awarded


The Ottawa University Braves Athletic Hall of Fame (BAHOF) banquet was held on the Ottawa campus, and for the second year in a row the David C. Owen Leadership Scholarship is awarded to Hailee McKay (Ottawa University Class of 2024), a member and Co-Captain of the three-time national championship women’s flag football team, majoring in biology and psychology. Hailee is from Henderson, NV where she competed in four sports at Green Valley High School earning academic honor roll recognition all four years and graduated with an advanced honors diploma. She has earned a 4.0 GPA at Ottawa University and was named to the Dean’s Honor Roll.  She was named to the All-tournament team at the flag football national championship tournament played in the Atlanta Falcons stadium in 2022. In June of 2023 she participated in a trip to the holy land with the David C. Owen Leadership Institute. After graduation she intends to further her career in the US Army as a field medic.


About Ottawa University

Founded in 1865, Ottawa University prepares professional and liberal arts graduates for lifetimes of personal significance, vocational fulfillment and service to God and humanity as a Christ-inspired community of grace and open inquiry. Ottawa University is a comprehensive, not-for-profit educational institution, serving more than 4,500 students through its residential campuses in Ottawa, Kan., and Surprise, Ariz., and adult campuses in Overland Park, Kan.; Surprise, Ariz.; Brookfield, Wis.; and online. Visit for more information.

Back to top